Friday Favorites

df1693874413987ea90e5a98ba7c0c33.jpg

9976480260e7ec8e8ddc5caa10065561

Happy Friday! We’re back today to share our FAVORITES from this week with you. Remember, you’re always welcome to link up with us and share your favs! Just go to Andrea, Narci, or Erika’s page and add your page to the link-up. 🙂

Melinda:

This past week Rob and I got to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary. We were able to go out and spend an evening together without kids. It’s so important to be able to spend some alone time with your spouse. I know for me, it’s exactly what I need to stay mentally healthy. This was a fantastic date with my FAVORITE person.

Corrinne:

My FAVORITE this week has been my new Tervis cup! My brother always makes fun of my for drinking from my Camelbak (the kind with the straw and rubber spout), telling me that I look like a gerbil. (rude) Anyway, I was looking for something a little more insulated to sit on my desk at work, and I grabbed one of these cups. I love it, but I’ll be honest with you, the straws are really my favorite part. I’ve always had a thing for straws, and these are no exception. The combination of the new cup and straws has been a huge boost to my water intake! Woohoo! Sometimes  you have to mix things up to keep yourself interested.

IMG_9098

For the inquiring minds, no I am not pregnant. The mom cup was on clearance for $8, and this girl just can’t pass up a deal.

I can already see Jocelyn’s eyes rolling, but my other FAVORITE this week is sunscreen. Yes… Sunscreen. My siblings always tease me about being “momish,” but I don’t hear them complaining about their lack of skin cancer and the snacks I keep in my purse, so I’m not too worried about it. 😉 (…The mom cup might be appropriate…) I’m pretty strict about skin care, and sunscreen tops the list! Sun damage is irreversible, and skin cancer is deadly! I know we all like a good tan, but it’s much more important to take care of your skin. You only get one face! Keep it pretty and wrinkle-free! Apparently though, there might be such a thing as being too vigilant about skin care, because at my recent doctor’s appointment, the physician told me my Vitamin D levels were a little low. So maybe I’ll venture out for a walk sans sunscreen. A quick walk. Maybe. 😉 Needless to say, nothing confirms the fact that you’re pale like hearing it from a medical professional. That’s the kind of fact you can’t deny. This will probably be me this weekend:

7d5569e2552697aadc508e3e4bb988bb

8808a286136a295ecab0e4aa9027cf2f.jpg

#worthit #don’tlooklikeacatchersmitt #palefordayz

Jocelyn:

My FAVORITE from this past week was last weekend! On Friday, I took a half day and picked my niece up for a special spoil day! We had a blast! We got lunch

IMG_8999

#whentheicecreamtoogood

got a new toy and saw Finding Dory.

The movie was super cute btw. She was cute as a button and it was so nice to have that special time with her. I love that girl!

Saturday, John and I went to NYC! We dropped his mom off for an appointment she had in Jersey City and rode the metro into the city. We had such a great time. This was my first time in NYC in the summer, and it was so nice. I’d only been around at Christmastime before. Christmas in the city can be magical, but it’s sooo cold and crowded that sometimes its more trouble than its worth. Summer was great because we walked everywhere and it wasn’t quite as packed. We went to the World Trade Center Memorial first.

IMG_9011

I love visiting this site. It’s such a sobering reminder of what happened there almost 15 years ago. It’s crazy to think it’s been that long. I still remember being in school and a TV being wheeled into our classroom so we could watch the newscast. With the attack in Orlando, this felt even more sobering. John and I both want to go back soon and tour the museum. If you’re ever in the city, this site is a must-see. It’s a beautiful tribute to the heroes our nation lost that day.

After the 911 memorial, we went uptown to McGee’s pub.

IMG_9018

We love the show How I Met Your Mother, and this bar is the one the writers used for inspiration to create MacLaren’s. There are all kinds of photos of the cast eating there and signed posters everywhere.

IMG_9017

The food was delicious… I had the Buffalo Chicken wrap (it was excellent! I want to try to make this on my own here at home) with a side salad instead of fries. John had Fish & Chips and said they were delicious.

IMG_9016.JPG

This was their drink menu. If you watch the show, you know that each of those names is a situation in the show. We loved looking through and laughing about specific instances. All in all, a great stop. Definitely tourist-y, but we love the show and that made it a fun attraction for us.

After the pub, we went to Central Park (where I took no photos. Whoops.) Then we stopped for macaroons.

 

Oh. My. These were incredible. Apparently, this bakery flies the macaroons in from Paris everyday, and it shows. They were amazing. (For as expensive as they are, they better be!) Definitely a once-in-a-while treat, but they were amazing! We got raspberry, vanilla, salted caramel, and rose petal. (tastes exactly like you think a rose would. John hated it, I loved it.)

After the bakery, we stopped by the New York and Company Base headquarters. I worked there for 4 years, and just had to see the main operation. (Fun Fact: Corrinne, Melinda, and myself have actually all worked at NY&Co.) We also went to Gap and Bloomindgale’s. (I had to see where Rachel Greene worked.)

Side note: one of my FAVORITE things to happen this week was that John shaved that scraggly beard! Yay!! He looks so handsome! The pic on the left was us in NY. He said it was so itchy and hot in the city, and he shaved it as soon as he got home. The pic on the right is post-homeless man beard.

After about 16,000 steps and a detour on the subway, we were waiting for the metro to head back to Jersey City. I was pooped! There were no benches left, so ya girl popped a squat on the floor. In the normal subway stations I probably wouldn’t have, but the World Trade Center subway station is incredibly nice (for a subway) so I couldn’t be bothered.

IMG_9028

Waiting for our last train.

All in all, it was a super fun day trip! No set agenda, and no deadlines- just the way I like it!

Those are our favs from this week! Have a lovely weekend, ya’ll! We’ll see you back here next week!

Leave a Reply

