Friday Favorites

MjAxMi0yMmJmNWQyZjk5ZDhhY2Y2

#youcantmakeme #actuallyyoucan #bummer

Welcome back to Friday Favorites, everyone! We’re excited to share the things we loved this week with you! If you’re new to the blog, Friday Favorites is a post where we share our FAVORITE things that happened this week- little or small. It’s a link-up with some other bloggers, Erika, Narci, and Andrea. If you’d like to link up with us and share your favorites, just go to one of their pages, scroll to the bottom of the post and add your page!

Melinda:

My first FAVORITE this week was spending the weekend with family for Memorial Day! It was great to get together and make some fun memories. I made this fruit pizza for the occasion and it was delicious!

IMG_8844

Lately, I’ve started going to yoga every Thursday night. It’s so nice to take that time and push aside everything else going on in my life. Even if you don’t feel like you’d be any good at yoga, I’d recommend trying out a beginner class near you! You’ll be surprised how much of a workout you can get from a simple yoga class without all the stress on your joints that comes with cardio and other forms of exercise. Yoga is my FAVORITE.

IMG_8843

Over the weekend, we went to the Franklin Institute in Philly with my little brother to visit the Pixar exhibit! We had such a fantastic time there!

We had so much fun at this exhibit! if you have kids, I’m sure they’d love it. Such a fun day trip!

Corrinne:

My FAVORITE this week was sushi home made by my mother-in-law! I’m obsessed with sushi, so this just made me happy!

IMG_8836

#passthephillyrollplease

My other FAVORITE this week was finding out that one of my coworkers also has a healthy living blog! Her blog is called Peaceful Table. And it’s a vegan blog, so major props to her! She even has a podcast! Go check her out!

Jocelyn:

Um… this. This is my FAVORITE. I can relate on a level that I’m a little ashamed of. I hate doing dishes.

IMG_8831

AHHH!! My next favorite is this little guy! We’re dog sitting for some friends while they’re on vacation, and I already don’t want to give this cutie back. If you know me at all, you know I’ve been begging my husband for a puppy for the last 10,000 years. So having this “surrogate” puppy has been good for me and makes me even more excited to have one of our own this fall!

IMG_8837

My next favorite is that I went to PF Chang’s on Friday and had the best crispy honey shrimp ever my husband came home on Friday! 😉 Being the awesome uncle he is, he brought our adorable niece presents! It’s my FAVORITE to watch them play together. #heartmelt #noidontwantmyownyet

IMG_8805

My birthday was this past weekend, and all the festivities were my FAVORITE. I’m one of those people that looooves my birthday, and this one didn’t disappoint! That cake thing in the top right is called a dobos torte. My mother-in-law is 100% German as well as an award-winning baker. That combination means wonderful things for my tastebuds and not so wonderful things for my waistline. 😉 Dobos Torte is a traditional sponge layer cake. She makes it in mocha flavor and its amazing. To those who have seen a Smith Island cake, it’s similar to that. She made it in Swiss Roll form for my birthday and it. was. amazeballs. Don’t worry- I limited myself to just that piece. Though it was hard.

I realize that I just wrote like an entire paragraph about cake, but I don’t regret it. It was worth all 3-6 sentences. #noragrets

As you can see, I got my free bday Starbucks, and I celebrated another year of #fabulous with my wonderful friends and family- my favorite FAVORITE.

And in case you didn’t know, today is National Donut Day. We’re all about balance at Slender Spoon. Eat your salads, do your squats, and take care of yourself, but enjoy a donut every now and then. Deprivation is not a sustainable lifestyle. And life is too dang short not to enjoy a donut. Here’s a shot of my donut table from my wedding. These are the world’s best donuts. You know they’re good when you got married in the middle of a hurricane, and people had more to say about the donuts than they did the raging storm and the fact that the venue moved 50 miles 24 hrs before the wedding. #donutsovereverything #priorities

IMG_8845

That’s it! Have a wonderful weekend everyone! See you next week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

