Buffalo Chicken Lasagna

on

Today, my love affair with all things buffalo chicken continues. This lasagna is super simple, and I think you’ll love it as much as I do.

Does the month of May kick everyone’s butt, or is it just me? In my family, we have several birthdays (like 4. 3 of them within 10 days of each other), parties, there’s always a graduation, weddings, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I love May. May is birthday month! Woohoo! May means warmer weather, longer nights, and summertime. But because May is such a fast-paced month, I was pleasantly surprised when I realized I got to be home all night on Monday and Tuesday this week. I got to try out 2 new recipes- I’m sharing the lasagna with you today, and once I get the other one tweaked just right, I’ll be sharing that too. πŸ™‚

I mentioned that this recipe is easy, right? Its sooo easy, and so delicious! Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients:

  • 6 whole wheat lasagna noodles (I buy the oven-ready kind. I hate boiling pasta)
  • 1/2 lb. cooked and shredded chicken (Ya’ll know I used canned chicken for this. Go ahead and judge me. πŸ˜‰
  • 1 1/2 c. Spaghetti sauce. (I use Ragu’s cheese blend. Delicious and surprisingly not too high cal)
  • 1/2 c. Frank’s Wing Sauce (Buffalo)
  • 1/2 c. low-fat ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 c. low-fat cottage cheese
  • 1/4 c. egg whites
  • 1/4 c. pepper jack/blue cheese
  • 3/4 c. water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375-380Β°. Spray baking dish lightly. Combine ricotta cheese, cottage cheese, and egg whites in a bowl. Combine chicken, spaghetti sauce, wing sauce, and water. Spread one layer of your chicken & sauce mixture on the bottom of your pan and top with a layer of noodles. Spread another layer of sauce and then a layer of your cheese mixture. Repeat layers until done. Cover lasagna with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes. With about 15 minutes left, pull your lasagna out of the oven and sprinkle with cheese and return to oven uncovered and finish baking.

Here is the original recipe- you can see I made a few additional changes as well as cutting the recipe in half. (John and I can’t keep up with the food in our refrigerator, so IΒ half most of the recipes I make. I baked mine inΒ a small casserole dish as opposed to a 13 x 9.)

So easy and yummy! Try it out and let me know how you like it. πŸ™‚ Her recipe calls it 9 pts, but with the changes I made, I think it comes in at around 8.)

IMG_8512

Leave a Reply

