Copycat Chick-fil-A Nuggets

 

If you know me at all, like even a little bit, you know that I love me some Chick-fil-A. So when we at Slender Spoon decided to cut out fast food for the month of April,Β  I knew right away I’d be missing my CFA. Honestly, 13 days into the challenge, CFA is really the only thing I do miss! Since I knew I’d be missing that delicious chicken, I thought it’d be good to find a few copycat recipes to hold me over until May. πŸ˜‰

This is the original recipe from skinnymom.com. I think what really makes these nuggets so good is the fact that they marinate in pickle juice for a full 30-45 min. The chicken really comes out moist, and it holds so much great flavor! If you’re a mama to some little ones, they are sure to love these nuggets. They are a bit time consuming to make, but they are definitely more cost effective than paying for all those kid’s meals!

My advice is to think about how many nuggets you want to eat and only make that many. I find that my eyes are often bigger than my stomach. These nuggets are no exception. Make yourself a nice side salad and cook 8-10 nuggets rather than 15-20. I don’t know about you, but I have no self-restraint around these little bites of perfection. πŸ˜‰

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 4 oz chicken breast tenderloins (I like using these bc there’s no work prepping them. Just cut them into nugget sized pieces and get on with your life.:)
  • Β½ cup pickle juice
  • 1 egg, plus 1 egg white
  • Β½ cup skim milk
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 2 Tbsp powdered sugar (I have made this recipe omitting the sugar and really didn’t notice a difference in taste)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Β½ tsp black pepper
  • Β½ tsp garlic powder
  • Β½ tsp celery salt
  • Β½ tsp dried basil
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil

Directions:

Chop your chicken into nugget sized pieces and marinate in pickle juice for 45 min-1 hr. (I like to see the chicken turning a bit white from the acidity of the pickle juice before IΒ take it out.) Combine your egg, egg white, and skim milk in a bowl and beat together. In another bowl, combine your flour, powdered sugar, and spices. Once combined, transfer your flour mixture to a large Ziploc bag.

Heat your coconut oil in your skillet.

Dip your chicken pieces in the egg mixture one by one and then place in your Ziploc bag. Shake chicken in the bag with the spices until all of your chicken is well coated.

Once your chicken pieces are coated, fry your pieces in the coconut oil until golden brown and cooked through. Remove from the skillet and serve immediately!

I hope you all enjoy these as much as I did. They’re a delicious alternative to the drive-thru line, and I promise your whole family won’t mind that they’re a bit lightened up. πŸ™‚

My marinating little nuggets
My marinating little nuggets
the perfect blend of spices
the perfect blend of spices
frying up nicely in my coconut oil
frying up nicely in my coconut oil
Done and delicious!
Done and delicious!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

