Crack Slaw

A few years back Rob and I used to be obsessed with the show “The Biggest Loser“. Every week we would sit and watch the 2-hour show to cheer for our favorite contestants. Can you tell this was before we had kids? I would love to just sit for 2 hours…anyway, back to my story. My favorite contestant from season 11 was Courtney Crozier. Courtney had the biggest, positive attitude about everything. She was always smiling and was motivated to continue her weight loss journey. I say continue her weight loss journey because she had already lost 112 pounds before the show and went on to lose 110 more pounds on the show. Amazing, right? Five years later and Courtney still continues to motivate me daily via her Instagram posts. One recipe I watched her post frequently (besides her cauliflower crumbles. Girl is obsessed just like me! haha) was a recipe called Crack Slaw. I mean, with a name like that, I have to try it! I am so glad that I did and I know that you will be too! Crack Slaw can be served as a side or  a main dish. Enjoy!

 

Crack Slaw

 

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground Beef or Turkey or Chicken (I used ground turkey)

2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1-2 tablespoons of minced garlic

2 tablespoons of diced onions

14 oz. bag of coleslaw mix (I used the broccoli slaw mix from Trader Joe’s. Delicious!)

3 tablespoons of reduced sodium soy sauce 

2 tablespoon sriracha

Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Brown ground beef and season with salt, pepper, and garlic to taste. Remove from pan and set aside.

2) Saute onions, cabbage, and garlic in olive oil and cook until tender.

3) Add in reduced sodium soy sauce, sriracha, salt & pepper

4) Add ground beef back into the cabbage and mix well

5) Serve warm & top with sriracha, salt, and pepper to taste

Recipe adapted from: Courtney Crozier

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. shelliecfi says:

    Made this tonight. It was yummy! We added mushrooms because I had them in the fridge. We will be making this again. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Melinda K. says:

      Glad to hear it! I will have to try it with mushrooms. Thanks for the tip!

      Like

Leave a Reply

