Chile Pineapple Chicken

Happy Wednesday, loves. This week is flying by! I’m so ready for the weekend. (as per usual)

So today I’m sharing a new recipe I tried out this week. It’s so simple, and it turned out pretty good! I love how easy this was to throw together. I served my chicken over quinoa. This was my first time trying it! I liked it… I think we used too much water in the rice cooker (whoops) because it was a little soggy, but overall it was great! Quinoa is so much better for you than white rice, and its such a simple swap!

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • bottle of Thai chile sauce (preferably a low-sugar version if you can find it)
  • can of chunked pineapple
  • veggie assortment (I used red bell pepper, sugar snap peas, and broccoli florets)
  • 1 cup quinoa (can substitute white rice)

Directions:

  • Lay your chicken breast in the bottom of your crockpot
  • pour chile sauce and pineapple chunks (and juice) on top
  • Let cook on low for 5-7 hours
  • Shred chicken with forks before adding veggies
  • 30 minutes before serving, add veggies and let cover until cooked but still crisp
  • serve over quinoa or rice

A few tips for you: when I got home from work, I drained just a little of the juice from the chicken before adding the veggies. I then poured a tiny bit more chile sauce over top the entire dish for the last 30 minutes. This was a really simple weeknight meal! The quinoa kept me full all night, and I loved the sweet tang of the chicken. I hope you like it as much as we did! πŸ™‚

Right after I shredded my chicken and added the veggies
Right after I shredded my chicken and added the veggies
yummy quinoa
yummy quinoa
Finished product! :)
Finished product! πŸ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

