Spinach Mushroom Quiches

Happy hump day, friends! Today we’re talking breakfast.

I have a confession: I’m a breakfast slacker. 

I know. 

It’s bad. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, it jump starts your metabolism, blah blah blah. I’ve just never liked it. I’m never that hungry first thing in the morning. BUT, breakfast really is the most important meal of your day. So, I’ve been hunting for a good healthy option to start my day. 

I am not a morning person. (Like- look like a bear, growl at my husband, and constantly wake up 10 minutes later than I should- not a morning person.) So any breakfast for me needs to be a quick grab-and-go situation. I’ve been eating granola bars lately, but honestly I’ve gotten a little sick of them. So, when I found this recipe, I was so excited to try it out! I made these Monday night, and I’ve been eating them for breakfast each morning. The recipe makes 8 servings. Enough for a breakfast every morning for a week and one left over. 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. fat free cottage cheese
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 c. baby spinach
  • 1 c. diced mushrooms
  • 1 Roma tomato, diced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 c. fat-free cheddar cheese

Directions:

First, preheat your oven to 375º. Sautee your spinach and mushrooms until your spinach is wilted. Mix your ingredients together.  

Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray. Fill cups about 3/4 full. Crack salt and pepper on top of quiches. 

Bake for 45-50 minutes or until outsides are crispy. I baked mine at 350º and it took longer than that, so I recommend a higher heat. 

Let quiches cool.

Just a few little tips for you: First, if you can’t figure out how many egg whites you need, most of the time there’s a conversion chart on the carton. It took me longer than I care to admit to realize this. And second, make sure your quiches are cooked all the way before taking them out. Because these are crust-less, they don’t hold their shape as well unless they are completely done. Stick a fork through and make sure it comes out clean before you put them out to cool.

After the quiches cooled, I put mine in individual baggies to be able to grab quickly on the way out the door each morning. These were delicious! They’re packed with protein and veggies- the perfect start to your day. I hope you like them as much as I did. Do you have any great make-ahead breakfast recipes? I’d love to hear them! Leave a comment below. Have a great week, all!

1 serving: 3 pp.

IMG_7737
My uncooked quiches in the muffin pan
IMG_7727
Ready to be baked!
FullSizeRender.jpg
Yum!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

