Maple Bacon and Apple Salad

Is it just me or does anyone else seem to be more salad-friendly in the spring? All winter I struggle with wanting creamy, heavy foods, but when the weather starts getting a tad warmer, all I want is a good salad. I’m sure it’s something to do with the fresh vegetables available, but hey- whatever works! Salad is one of those things that’s so easy to tweak and make your own thing. Do you like blue cheese? You can base a salad around that. Are grilled corn and fresh tomatoes your jam? Make a salad with them. Don’t just get stuck in a rut of lettuce + same old dressing + same toppings. Salads are something I burn out super quickly on if I don’t switch things up.

I tried to think of a good spring-y salad to share with you all today, but for some reason I was craving bacon and apples together, so this has a bit more of a fall-ish feel to it. Still, the ingredients will be available no matter the time of year, so I think it’ll work. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • Arugula
  • 2 slices turkey bacon
  • Slivered almonds
  • Cut up apple chunks
  • 2 oz. goat cheese
  • Craisins
  • Rachael Ray’s Balsamic Reduction  (You need this. You really do. Its 0 points per tbsp, and I put it on everything.)
  • EVOO

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 375. Lay your strips of bacon and your slivered almonds on a cookie sheet. (If you aren’t cooking bacon in the oven, you’re doing it wrong. Ain’t nobody got time for frying bacon!) I took just a slight pinch of brown sugar and sprinkled it over my bacon and nuts. This gives it that maple-y flavor! Pop your cookie sheet in the oven and cook until bacon is crispy.

While your bacon and almonds are in the oven, you can start assembling your salad. I put arugula, about an oz of goat cheese, apple chunks, and craisins in mine. Once your bacon and almonds are done, cut your bacon into little pieces to sprinkle over your salad. Add your almonds. For dressing, I drizzled Balsamic Reduction and EVOO on the top of my salad. The creaminess of the goat cheese makes the salad plenty heavy enough, so a light dressing like this is perfect. The sweetness and tang of the Balsamic really compliments the cheese!

This salad was a big winner for me. I even brought another one for my lunch today! The whole salad was about 7 points. We paired this salad with some delicious roasted Brussels sprouts. If you haven’t made this yummy side, you need to try it. All you do is slice your sprouts in half, lay them on a cookie sheet, and top with salt/pepper, balsamic drizzle, and EVOO. Roast them for about 8-10 minutes until they look crispy on the top and enjoy! So yummy!

 

This is John's salad with cheese. Yum!
This is John’s salad with cheese. Yum!

 

The salad without cheese. I really posted this one bc its more aesthetic and I wanted you to see my cute placemats again ;)
The salad without cheese. I really posted this one bc its more aesthetic and I wanted you to see my cute placemats again 😉
Our yummy Brussels sprouts! They're not very pretty, but I promise they're delicious!
Our yummy Brussels sprouts! They’re not very pretty, but I promise they’re delicious!
The turkey bacon and nuts for our salads!
The turkey bacon and nuts for our salads!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never been a fan of arugula, but you’re making it look gooooood!!

    Xox Dana Ivy // http://www.iadorewhatilove.com

    Like

    1. Jocelyn S says:

      Thanks Dana! I hate regular lettuce haha! I’ve found that if I’m going to eat salad, it has to be spring mix or arugula. #pickyeaterproblems 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

