Thanksgiving Turkey Wraps

Oh, February. I’m so happy to see you go.

I have such mixed feelings about our 2nd month. On the one hand, my sweet husband and a few family members have birthdays we get to celebrate. I love Valentine’s Day and all things hearts & flowers. But… I just hate the dreariness and sickness that inevitably comes with February. Overall it was a good month, but boy, was it busy for the Simpsons! We’re just now recovering from a nasty bout of strep throat, so you’ll have to forgive the late recipe post!

I’ve been on a search for good lunches lately. I’m getting a little sick of turkey/ham on a sandwich thin. I don’t love the frozen meals that Weight Watchers sells. They’re ok in a pinch, but the high levels of sodium tend to give me acid reflux, so I decided to try something new. I found a couple different wrap recipes that have been winners and I’ve been mixing and matching them. Today I’m going to share with you my favorite so far!

Look people. If you haven’t tried Flatout wraps yet, get your butt over to the grocery store. They’re a wonderful alternative to carb-heavy tortillas/bread. Flatouts contain half the carbs & calories of two slices of whole wheat bread. They come in a few different flavors and styles, and all of them are wonderful. They can be used as a pizza crust, a tortilla, etc… I used them here as a wrap!

 

Thanksgiving Turkey Wrap

You’ll Need:

  • Deli Turkey (I used Hillshire Farms extra-thin sliced)
  • Thin sliced low-fat cheese
  • Flatout wrap
  • Craisins (Ocean Spray‘s 50% less sugar)
  • Lite mayo
  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Turkey bacon (optional)

Directions

  • Cook 2 strips of bacon and leave on a paper towel to drain any excess grease. Set aside
  • Spread a thin layer of Lite Mayo across your wrap. I used about 1/2 a Tbsp.
  • Add your lettuce, cheese, turkey, bacon and craisins

The flavor mixture of the craisins & the turkey just makes me think of Thanksgiving. Yum! The turkey bacon is optional, but I added it because it gave the wrap a great crunch. (Another good version of this wrap is the Turkey Bacon Ranch wrap. Just swap out the crasins for sliced tomatoes and the mayo for Lite Ranch, and you’ve got a whole new lunch!) I paired my wrap with these delicious kale chips. What a great recipe! ;)That’s it! Seems over-simplified, but sometimes I have trouble coming up with even the most basic recipes. Don’t fall into a rut of eating the same things over and over again and burning yourself out! Salads are great, but if I eat them 7 days a week, I set myself up to fail. I have to keep it mixed up. Eating healthy doesn’t have to be a boring chore. Do you have any healthy lunch ideas? I’d love to hear them! I’m on the lookout for more!

I don’t know about you guys, but all this nice weather has been such a tease for me! I’m ready for spring & getting some exercise outside. Have a great Thursday everyone! The weekend is coming. 🙂

 

This is what the flatout package looks like.
This is what the flatout package looks like.
These are the craisins I used.
These are the craisins I used.
Yum! Don't those kale chips look yummy too??
Yum! Don’t those kale chips look yummy too??

 

Leave a Reply

