Parmesan Garlic Kale Chips

I love snacks. If I could skip the mandatory three meals a day thing and just snack all day…I would. Snacks are just so great! But, unfortunately too much snacking can add quite a bit of extra calories to your day. So today I have a delicious recipe for the perfect guilt-free snack. KALE CHIPS. Yes, my friends, kale chips. Now before you click out of this tab and continue to shiver out of disgust…give these “chips” a chance. Kale is extremely healthy for you. Did you know that a serving of kale has more iron than beef, more calcium than milk, and 10x more vitamin c than spinach?* Talk about a super food! So let’s turn this amazing super food into a snack! See the following recipe for Parmesan garlic kale chips:

Making kale chips is a fairly simple task. To start, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. While the oven is preheating take a bowl and add your desired amount of kale (I used about 4 cups).  Next add 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil and massage the kale with your hands for about 4 minutes. Just 4 minutes. Just do it, it helps. Next, add 4 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese and 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. Mix until the kale is coated with oil and seasonings. I added a little bit of sea salt because I love all things salty, but it’s up to your taste preference. IMG_5825

When this step is completed it should look like the picture above. This is delicious raw, too! Next, you add the kale to a baking sheet. I HATE cleaning pans. So I always add a sheet of foil to my baking pans. Before adding the kale to the baking sheet I sprayed the foil with coconut spray from Trader Joe’s.

IMG_5826

See? Looks lovely. Next, pour and spread the kale onto the baking sheet.

IMG_5829.JPG

A nice posed shot with my hot pink spatula. I just really wanted you to see my cool spatula. Anyway, back to the kale chips, place the baking sheet into the oven for 15-20 minutes. You want the kale chips to be really crisp, otherwise they will become very soggy the following day. You can even turn off the oven and let the kale chips sit in there a little while longer.

IMG_5831.JPG

Once they are finished, they will look something like the picture above. Side note: have you ever noticed that something made entirely out of veggies looks disgusting and completely unappetizing once its done? For an example: veggetti, zucchini fries, cauliflower pizza, etc. Well, kale chips are no exception. But, take my word for it, these Parmesan garlic kale chips are amazing. Once they were baked, I almost ate the entire batch. As for the leftovers, if you have any, you can store them in a Ziploc bag at room temperature for a few days.

IMG_5839

 

See? They look less terrifying in a bowl. Completely harmless. I hope you enjoy them just as much as I did! Happy snacking! (recipe adapted from Simply, Taralynn)

*According to http://www.stylecraze.com/articles/amazing-benefits-of-kale/

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

