Skinny Stir Fry

So, stir fry is my jam. For real. I remember when I was in grade school my parents took a weekend getaway. Apparently, they binge-watched episodes of Emeril on Food Network (party people) while they were there, because when they came back my dad had decided he was the next best thing to come to the culinary world. His first foray into cooking was stir fry. I should note here that he really is a good cook so I can’t make too much fun of him, but for about 6 months we ate about 7,483 versions of stir fry. Stir fry with apples in it, stir fry with orange peel (the only one that I remember disliking), shrimp stir fry, beef, chicken, etc. We ate a lot of stir fry. A lot.

Needless to say, I am familiar with the dish, and shockingly I still love it. So obviously I had to make a lightened-up version! I took a WW recipe from Pinterest and I added my own twist to it and it turned out great! The original recipe they have is a little bland, but with just a few additions, it made for a delicious & filling meal. Here is the original recipe.

I added a can of water chestnuts, a can of bamboo shoots, bean sprouts, baby corn, and a red bell pepper. In addition to their soy sauce I added a 2 tbsp. of hoisin sauce because I love that slightly sweet taste in Chinese food. The best stir fry advice I have: put the vegetables in last for a very short time. Bamboo shoots and baby corn need to cook for awhile to soften, but the rest of your veggies only need a few minutes to absorb flavor. If you overcook them you’ll end up with a bowl of mush and no one is a fan of that! Crisp veggies are the way to go. I ate my stir fry over 1/2 cup of rice for a total of 9 points for those of you counting. Just a lightened up twist on an old classic! I hope you all enjoy as much as I did!

The weekend is so close, and one of my favorite holidays is coming with it! Superbowl Sunday is so much fun. Make sure you get some exercise in so you can enjoy all those Superbowl snacks guilt-free.

IMG_7253 IMG_7254

Leave a Reply

