I ditched my scale

When I started my fitness journey a little over a year ago, I had one goal in mind: to be as skinny as possible. I just had my second child a few months before, and I was sick of the weight. Once I started Weight Watchers and running, I quickly realized that it was going to be a slow process. I think it is hard for women to accept that losing weight in a healthy way takes time. We are constantly surrounded with ads saying “Lose 20 pounds in 24 hours” and “Drink hot honey: Be skinny for life”. Maybe those are a little exaggerated — but you get the point.

Everywhere you look, advertisements, social media, and even Pinterest are filled with pictures of super fit and skinny women. Which is fine, good for them. I am sure that they put a lot of hard work and dedication into their diet and exercise. BUT, why are we consumed with the idea of looking like these women when all of our bodies are created differently? I personally love that not everyone’s body is the same.

At the beginning of my weight loss journey I was obsessed with a goal weight. So much that when I did my Monday weigh-in and it didn’t go how I wanted it to, I would be the most miserable person for the next week. I was blinded by the scale and I could not see that my body was changing. Clothes were getting loose and my husband was telling me that I lost weight, but I didn’t care. The scale told me that I was still fat. After about 6 months of slowly getting the weight off I had enough. I couldn’t take the scale being the measure of my happiness anymore. So I completely stopped stepping on the scale.

I have no idea if I ever hit my goal weight in 2015. I have no idea how many pounds I have lost. I couldn’t even tell you how much I weigh. And guess what? I do not care. Once I stopped weighing myself, I became so happy with how my body looks. I know that my clothes are loose and that makes me happy. And I know that I am healthy and strong.

So I challenge YOU — stop looking at and comparing yourself to other women and just be YOU. Stop weighing yourself and focus on being happy and healthy. I know that you can do it!

1915740_10208370394837418_4828104957457681082_n
My transformation pictures
1936484_10208370396957471_7467978211526468300_n
January 2015 to December 2015.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Jocelyn S says:

    Love this! I do the same thing! Weigh myself and if I don’t like the result, I go through the week and beat myself up for every bad choice or “failure.” Such an unhealthy and miserable mindset!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

