Cauliflower Crust Breakfast Pizza

This week, I decided to try the cauliflower pizza crust I’ve seen all over Pinterest. Both sides of my family are huge pizza eaters- My dad has an outdoor brick pizza oven that he built himself, and my mother-in-law makes her own pizza crust from a sourdough starter that is delicious! So, yeah. You could say we like pizza.

So, in an effort to find a healthier alternative, I decided to try this crust. Full disclosure: it was not pizza crust. But it was good. My advice would be to let the cauliflower dry out a little more, and to spread your “dough” as thin as you can without making holes. The thinner the dough, the crispier it will be- making it taste more like an actual crust. My first pizza crust was a little thick- which made the final product a little mushier than I would have liked.

We decided to make our first cauliflower pizza experience a breakfast pizza because we figured that even if the crust was disgusting, we’d at least still have bacon and eggs. As a wise man once said: “There has never been a sadness that can’t be cured by breakfast food.” -Ron Swanson

Luckily, our crust was not disgusting, and our breakfast toppings just made it better!

Here is the recipe I used to make my cauliflower crust. Like I said, the only thing I would do differently would  be to let the cauliflower dry out (even longer). For toppings, I used scrambled egg whites, part-skim low moisture mozzarella, and turkey bacon crumbles. I even drizzled on a little sugar free syrup at the end!

Here are some dorky pics of the process to brighten your Hump Day! Happy pizza eating mi amici!

This is me being dorky and taking selfies with riced cauliflower.
This is me being dorky and taking selfies with riced cauliflower.
This is what my baked crust looked like! Not bad, eh?
This is what my baked crust looked like! Not bad, eh?
This is my husband being cute and posing with his pizza.
This is my husband being cute and posing with his pizza.
This is what the pizza looked like up close! (half eaten because I forgot to take a pic until I was 2 bites in.
This is what the pizza looked like up close! (half eaten because I forgot to take a pic until I was 2 bites in.)
Leave a Reply

