Chicken Parm Sandwiches & Roasted Kale

This week’s #whatsonyourplatewednesday was so simple! One of my most favorite blogs that I follow posted this recipe and I added my own little tweaks to it to make it just a touch less calorie-heavy.

One of my favorite tips from that blog is how she prepares her chicken.  At my job, we take a rotation every 6 weeks working the late shift. The 8:00 am wake up call (Ok, fine. 9:00 am) is so nice, but not getting off until 6:45 or later makes putting together a healthy meal somewhat of a challenge. With her tip about making the chicken ahead of time in the crockpot, my total prep time was only about 20 minutes!

I slow-cooked my chicken in marinara sauce, then threw everything together in the skillet. Rather than eat my chicken on a burger roll, I swapped it out for an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin. (3 pts for you WW peeps.) I used low moisture, part-skim cheese on my sandwiches, but those were really the only two changes I had to make.

The roasted kale is one of my new favorite things! I’ve always known that kale is one of those super amazing foods you hear about, but raw kale is one of my least favorite things on earth. I did some reading up about this leafy green though, and the many health benefits it offers made me want to find a way to work it into my diet. Did you know that kale:

  • lowers cholesterol
  • aids in digestion
  • lowers risk of at least 5 known cancers
  • acts as a detoxifier

and so so much more! I also got the idea for the roasted kale from http://www.mixandmatchmama.blogspot.com . (Guys you really have to check out her blog. It isn’t a healthy living/diet page, but she is just hilarious and sweet and genuine about her life as a stay at home mom and I love so many of the recipes and ideas she posts!)

The kale was so quick and easy to make! Just spread it on a foil-covered cookie sheet, drizzle with some EVOO, and crack some salt & pepper generously over it. I popped it in the oven at 400 ° F for 10 minutes and it was done! Try it out!

This is a perfect meal for a busy weeknight! All in all it took me 20 minutes, and John and  I loved it! Let me know if you like it as much as we did.

If you have any other ideas about how to work kale into a healthy diet, let me know! I’d love to hear what you’ve tried and liked! I hope you are all having a great week!

Recipe can be found here.

 

Finished product!
Finished product!

I

One Comment Add yours

  1. Melinda K. says:

    I am so happy that you are starting to love kale just as much as I do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

