Confessions of a Carbie

 

Ok. So I was one of them. I thought people who ate zucchini noodles instead of pasta were just sad liars. There was no way in my mind that a vegetable could taste as good as pasta. But now, in the infamous words of Smash Mouth- “I’m a believer.”

I’m sure you’ve all seen the “zoodle” craze that’s taken healthy living blogs, magazines, pinterest boards, etc. by storm. And I have to say – it lives up to the hype! On Monday night, I made the most amazing Vegetarian Pad Thai based on this recipe I found at inspiralized.com

It. Was. Delicious. My husband/photographer/taste tester even agreed! Here’s why I went out on a limb to try it:

2 cups of your average, run-of-the-mill pasta has

  • 480 calories
  • 90 g carbs
  • 2g fiber

As opposed to 2 cups of “zoodles” which has

  • 66 calories
  • 12 g carbs
  • 4 g fiber

The difference made this worth trying for me! I bought my spiralizer on Amazon for under $25, and it worked perfectly. I’m a picky eater, and my main problem is texture. That was always my issue with pasta substitutes. I’d tried spaghetti squash before and it wasn’t for me  I hated it. Zoodles don’t have that weird mushy texture! I found that I enjoyed them just as much, if not more than regular pasta- and for 1/8 the carbs!

The other fear I had about veggie noodles was the time it would take to prepare them. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to use my spiralizer. (you can get one here.) This whole meal took about 30 minutes to prepare- its actually even faster than regular pasta since you don’t have to boil any noodles. The only thing I’d do differently would be to allow the zoodles a little more time in the skillet to soften them. They still had a slight crunch, but when I reheated them the next day, they were the perfect texture!

I added a little rice to this dish and a low sodium egg drop soup. All in all, it was a delicious, healthy meal without the guilt and the sluggishness that always follows a plate of pasta for me.

If you want to try this recipe, it can be found at inspiralized.com.  Try it – you won’t regret it!

My zoodles. Aren't they pretty?
My zoodles. Aren’t they pretty?

 

No, I don't generally take pictures of myself with a skillet, but it was just that good. ;)
No, I don’t generally take pictures of myself with a skillet, but it was just that good. 😉
The finished product. Mmmmm!
The finished product. Mmmmm!

 

 

Leave a Reply

